A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

on

I should probably let a few days pass before I write this review. But it feels like I should do justice to the book and do it now.

My heart is gone. It hasn’t been broken; it has been turned to dust. Beauty has that kind of power. So do certain kinds of sadness. And, God, does this book have every kind of beauty and sadness there is in this world.

Synopsis

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

From Goodreads

a_monster_calls
A Monster Calls published by Walker Books (2012)

This is the sort of story that I can feed the monster inside of me with. It’s juicy and raw, with a sweet and sour sauce. I hope my monster enjoys it because all of my other parts have.

A Monster Calls. Patrick Ness.
A Monster Calls artwork by Jim Kay

I don’t like the word ‘enjoy’. It feels too vulgar to be used in regards to this particular book. I wouldn’t say I loved it either. I didn’t. There are some things that happen that are stronger than love. This story will teach you everything there is to know about that.

It is a story about the process of losing someone and what that can do to whatever lives inside you. But it goes way beyond that. It is the hidden corners of a soul and the unveiling of its darknesses. It is a wild thing that will “chase and bite and hunt” you until you feel it, no matter how fast you run.

This will remind you of the importance of truth. It will help you understand that it is by speaking the truth to yourself that you can keep standing. It will force you to keep going; it is the strength you need to slay your own dragons. It is food for the monster and a monster itself. But aren’t we all?

 

If you’d like to get to know this monster, click here.

– Fae

Leave a Reply

