Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare

I’ve finished this book months ago but it’s like I haven’t. Not really and not permanently. In fact, I feel like I will be forever reading it. The words seem too reluctant to leave my mind and the characters… those will always stay.

Synopsis

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING.

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

From Goodreads

56ce4-book_03_clockprincess
Clockwork Princess published by Simon & Schuster (2013)

I don’t really know what I was expecting from The Infernal Devices ending. The only thing I know is that I wasn’t expecting to finish it sobbing my lungs out for an hour or two.


The book is not only the final piece to its own series but also what The Mortal Instruments was lacking; it is all the missing details that made me almost pull my own hair with curiosity, but also a whole new story on its own that leads to The Mortal Instruments plot. Both stories are so perfectly entwined I can’t help but wonder which one started first in Cassandra Clare’s mind.

d30eb695ed34259cada02c2abb7eaff9
Clockwork Princess cover art (Walker Books edition)

After reading the very last page of this book, I felt like I would never be okay again. In fact, I still do feel like that. Clockwork Princess broke my heart, patched it up again and finally threw it out of the window. I’m not sure where it landed or if I’ll ever recover it.

Sometimes I think those characters really exist. That Will is out there being cocky and outsmarting everyone or that Jem is surprising himself with his own kindness and playing the violin by a very old building’s window. They all seem so human even with their otherworldly powers and magic tattoos. They seem utterly real.

And it’s that reality I love the most about Cassandra Clare’s books. She can make you believe you know her characters as if they’re your friends with whom you cry and laugh with. She can make you care and that’s probably the greatest privilege a writer has in their power.

I will not say the book is perfect. The ending felt slightly dragged at some point and even though I didn’t want it to end, I couldn’t help but feeling like it was too much. If there is something I like to do is taking notes on my books (*shots fired*) and I remember writing things such as “how can he know they were there the whole afternoon if he wasn’t there himself” or “this character’s perspective is not relevant for this scene”. I don’t know if my attention to detail was simply on fire or if I just wasn’t paying enough attention to the other two books but I noticed mistakes in Clockwork Princess that could’ve been avoided and that never happened in Clare’s other books. However, these are just small things that are completely irrelevant to the quality of the story.

In simple words, this story is what fantasy needs to be, regardless of its faults.

This is a book for the fantasy lovers who are tender-hearted enough to handle a love triangle that is actually acceptable. It is for the romantics and for the sceptics because it will only add to your faith in love and friendship. It is for the ones who are attracted to chaos and suffering and to sad but beautiful endings.

Enter the Shadowhunters world. 

Fae

Leave a Reply

