A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Warning: this review contains (unnecessary) sexual content; just like the book does.

Synopsis

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf, a beast-like creature arrives at her home to avenge it. Forced to go to a dangerous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal: he is Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, Feyre’s feelings for Tamlin change. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

From Goodreads

77493_original
A Court of Thorns and Roses published by Bloomsbury 2015

A Court of Thorns and Roses (or, like Chaos always said when asking me if I was done with it already, A Thorn of Court) turned out to be a surprise. I was very curious about it and my curiosity grew every time I saw a beautiful drawing of the characters, or people talking about it on Instagram. I thought I was on my way to discover another book series that would make me fall in love. I was wrong.

tumblr_oan52jqxus1s3uj1so1_540
The High Lord and The Lady of the Night Court by lizthefangirl

The first thing I have written on the list of things I hated in the book is the upsetting amount of description/thoughts in a scene that’s supposed to have action. I don’t know if Maas was trying to make the book bigger or if she thought that would work. It didn’t work for me and it just made me roll my eyes until there was something finally happening. The book is written in the first person which can work very well if the character who is speaking is interesting and complex, but it can also be an absolute disaster (see Shatter Me). In this case, I think Maas’s choice wasn’t very smart. Feyre is far from being interesting. She could be amazing but she stopped being likeable as soon as she is taken somewhere unknown and is instantly in love with some handsome guy. That’s one thing I hate in any book:

Feyre is far from being interesting. She could be amazing but she stopped being likeable as soon as she is taken somewhere unknown and is instantly in love with some handsome guy. That’s one thing I hate in any book: instant love. Out of nowhere, there is a character who can’t do anything relevant because they can’t stop thinking about the body of another character. Wait, should we call it instant obsession instead? After all, they barely know each other by the end of the book anyway.

Shall I get into the unnecessary sexual scenes now? I’m sorry but I have to. I read some of these moments on the train and I think the girl who was sitting next to me and peering over my shoulder was trying really hard not to laugh. This is why:

He growled and the sound trembled down my neck, along my breasts until they ached.” (I mean if your breasts ache I think you should consider going to a doctor.)

I would have had you moaning throughout it all. And I would have taken a very, very long time” (Want would take  you ‘a very, very long time’? Calm down, son.)

I ground against his hand (…)” (I will spare you the details but this is actually in the book.)

I wanted his mouth and teeth and tongue on my bare skin, on my breasts, between my legs” (Yes, she does have a thing for teeth.)

Enough of this. I’ll just leave you with a scene that isn’t sexual but just dumb “If the blight was Amarantha, then the threat to the human realm… She was the threat to the human realm.” This is how Feyre’s thoughts usually form themselves in her mind and you’re forced to read it. Repetitions, repetitions and more repetitions.

Speaking of annoying: Rhysand. This is the guy Feyre swoons over when she sees him for the first time. “The most beautiful man I’d ever seen”, she thought, when a minute ago she wanted the teeth of the other handsome guy on her vagina. Yes, this is the kind of main character this book has.

Critics say it is a retelling of The Beauty and the Beast as if that should be a reason for you to read it.  It only is if you’re into reading about girls with Stockholm syndrome and serious self-esteem issues.

After all of what I just said, you probably think I hate Sarah J. Maas’s books. I don’t. I loved Throne of Glass and was expecting this one to be equally great. It turned out to be the exact opposite. Shame on you, Sarah. And shame on me for wasting time reading books that don’t deserve the death of the trees wasted on the printing.

If you’d like to decide for yourself if this is worthy of all that beauty fanart, click here:

The Book Depository 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kat says:

    It’s good to see that I’m not the only one who didn’t enjoy this book. It was way over-hyped, and in the end I had to abandon it because nothing happened. And even when it did, I didn’t care much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

