Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

Let’s talk about what’s in now: courts and thrones and badass girls.

Synopsis

After serving out a year of hard labour in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves, assassins, and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

From Goodreads

 

Throne_of_Glass_UK
Throne of Glass published by Bloomsbury

Celaena Sardothien is an unexpected heroine. She is not a villain but that doesn’t stop her from being wicked. Her heart is good, her essence fierce. She is brave and smart and strong. But in her complexity, there is also arrogance and faithlessness. Not as much as a true heroine but more as an ordinary girl, sometimes she doesn’t know what she wants. And that, somehow, made me love her even more.

12689528._SY540_
Celaena Sardothien – fanart by fetchart.blogspot.com

Besides being a book about a female assassin of a different time and place (isn’t that reason enough to make you curious?), Throne of Glass is a book about how people can be both good and bad; about the way our actions and decisions are not always what makes us what we are. It is a book about what lays beyond first impressions and how wrong those first impressions can be.

Although it gets annoying at some point (hello, love plot), the book has the kind of mystery to it that makes you want to go to sleep a bit later so that you can stay a bit longer in Celaena’s company.

Throne of Glass is also captivating because of the way it’s written. It has different voices and perspectives – from likeable characters and unlikeable ones. For me, it was over too quickly and I just felt bad for not having bought the whole series in one go. The story is still reverberating in some tiny place in my mind and I dare to say that it won’t stop until I follow onto the next one.

Fae

PS: Sorry if that synopsis was too long. I am too lazy to write one of my own. I tend to think that synopsises are quite irrelevant if they say too much. I hope you went straight to my review so you actually read about Throne of Glass without reading too many spoilers.

If you’d like to know the assassin with a name too difficult to pronounce, click here:

The Book Depository

The Daily Post – Daily Prompts: Glass

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Audrey says:

    This is a wonderful review! I haven’t read this book yet, but it’s on my July TBR and your review has made me even more excited to read this. Like you, I only bought the first book and if it’s as great as you (and everyone else) makes it seem then I should start saving to buy the other books in the series hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Audrey! You should read the book as soon as possible and when you finish you can come here and discuss it with me (: People tell me the rest of the books are not as good as the first one but I really want to know more about Celaena and the rest of the characters so I will read the others whenever I get the chance. Thank you so much for commenting.
      xx Fae

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

